CONCACAF NEWS — July 25, 2012 at 11:45 pm



NEW YORK (Wednesday, July 25, 2012) – The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF)  announced today that it has signed a five-year agreement with Fox International Channels Latin America to broadcast the CONCACAF Champions League.

The deal starts with the 2012-13 championship commencing on July 31 and gives FOX Sports exclusive rights in Latin America, including both Pay TV and the digital platforms throughout the region. Additionally, in Mexico and South America, FOX Sports will have total exclusivity as the rights in these territories also include Free TV.

“Our agreement with Fox International Channels Latin America puts the CONCACAF Champions League in perfect position to grow and fans throughout the region will be able to enjoy the competition like never before,“said CONCACAF President, Jeffrey Webb.  “With Fox’s many broadcast platforms and technologies, the Champions League will be presented in ways the fans want and expect.”

FOX Sports will broadcast more than 40 games live and delayed through its wide multimedia platform that consists of FOX Sports, FOX Sports+, their HD versions and  It will also provide enhanced coverage on its shows such as Central FOX and La Última Palabra (The Last Word), and through a weekly CONCACAF Champions League highlight show.

“We’re very pleased with this new agreement and relationship with CONCACAF,” said Carlos Martinez, President of Fox International Channels Latin America.  “We are confident that we’ll turn this tournament into a favorite and make it one of the strongest in the region, leveraging FOX Sports wide reach and the synergies of our entertainment, lifestyle and factual channels in Latin America, as we have already done with other Latin American and European events.”

The CONCACAF Champions League, inaugurated in the 2008-09 season, is the confederation’s annual club championship.  It features 24 teams from each of CONCACAF’s three sub-regions — North America, Central America and the Caribbean.

Atlante won the inaugural title in 2009, beating fellow Mexican side Cruz Azul 2-0 on aggregate in the two-leg final.  A year later, another Mexican club, Pachuca, defeated Cruz Azul for the crown on the away-goals rule.  Monterrey has captured the last two editions, overcoming the USA’s Real Salt Lake (2011) and fellow Mexican club Santos (2012) 3-2 on aggregate on both occasions.

The winner of the CONCACAF Champions League qualifies for the FIFA Club World Cup.

For a photo of the contract signing, please click here.


Leave a Reply

— required *

— required *