UEFA NEWS — July 17, 2012 at 12:49 am

Full list of nominees announced for UEFA Best Player in Europe 2011/12 063 – Award ceremony to take place on 30 August in Monaco



First published: Tuesday 14 August 2012, 12:00CET  Source: UEFA

Following the inaugural launch last year of the UEFA Best Player in Europe Award, created in partnership with the European Sports Media (ESM) group, UEFA today announced the full list of nominees who will run for the title of the UEFA Best Player in Europe 2011/12.

Born out of an initiative by UEFA President Michel Platini, the UEFA Best Player in Europe Award intends to revive the spirit of the old European Footballer of the Year honour. The trophy was handed out for the first time in Monaco last August to Lionel Messi as part of the draw ceremony for the UEFA Champions League group stage.

As was the case in 2011, a jury of journalists from each of UEFA’s 53 member associations has provided a list of their five best-ranked players (in 2011 it was three players only). The players are ordered from one to five, with the first receiving five points, the second four points and so on.

On 14 August, UEFA will reveal the names of the three players with the most points overall from the first round of voting. The jury will then proceed to the live vote on 30 August in Monaco during the UEFA Champions League group stage draw, when the same journalists will use an electronic system to determine the outright winner from the three candidates.

The 32-player long list is as follows (in alphabetical order):

Sergio Agüero (ARG) – Manchester City FC

Xabi Alonso (ESP) – Real Madrid CF

Mario Balotelli (ITA) – Manchester City FC

Jakub Błaszczykowski (POL) –Borussia Dortmund

Gianluigi Buffon (ITA) – Juventus

Iker Casillas (ESP) – Real Madrid CF

Petr Čech (CZE) – Chelsea FC

Fábio Coentrão (POR) – Real Madrid CF

Leslie Davies (WAL) – Bangor City FC

Didier Drogba (CIV) – Chelsea FC (now at Shanghai Shenhua FC)

Cesc Fàbregas (ESP) – FC Barcelona

Falcao (COL) – Club Atlético de Madrid

Joe Hart (ENG) – Manchester City FC

Zlatan Ibrahimović (SWE) – AC Milan

Andrés Iniesta (ESP) – FC Barcelona

Shinji Kagawa (JPN) – Borussia Dortmund (now at Manchester United FC)

Vincent Kompany (BEL) – Manchester City FC

Frank Lampard (ENG) – Chelsea FC

Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona

Luka Modrić (CRO) – Tottenham Hotspur FC

Mesut Özil (GER) – Real Madrid CF

Pepe (POR) – Real Madrid CF

Andrea Pirlo (ITA) – Juventus

Sergio Ramos (ESP) – Real Madrid CF

Raúl González (ESP) – FC Schalke 04 (now at Al-Sadd Sports Club)

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Real Madrid CF

Wayne Rooney (ENG) – Manchester United FC

David Silva (ESP) – Manchester City FC

Fernando Torres (ESP) – Chelsea FC

Yaya Touré (CIV) – Manchester City FC

Robin van Persie (NED) – Arsenal FC

Xavi Hernández (ESP) – FC Barcelon

Leave a Reply

— required *

— required *